22
State Tax Form 96-4 The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Assessors’ Use only
Revised 7/2017 Date Received
NORTHFIEL D Application No.
Name of City or Town Parcel Id.
VETERAN

FISCAL YEAR _2024 APPLICATION FOR STATUTORY EXEMPTION
General Laws Chapter 59, § 5

THIS APPLICATION IS NOT OPEN TO PUBLIC INSPECTION
(See General Laws Chapter 59, § 60)
l_ _| Return to:  Board of Assessors
Must be filed with assessors on or before April 1, or
3 months after actual (not preliminary) tax bills are
I_ _I mailed for fiscal year if later.

INSTRUCTIONS: Complete the following. Please print or type.
A. IDENTIFICATION. Complete this section fully.

Name of Applicant
Telephone Number Marital Status
Legal Residence (Domicile) on July 1, _ 2023 Mailing Address (f different)
No.  Street City/Town Zip Code
Location of Property: No. of Dwelling Units: 1] 2[ ]3] 4[ _]other

Did you own the property onJuly 1, 202 ? Yes ’:l No |:|
Ifyes, were you: Sole Owner |:| Co-owner with Spouse Only I:' Co-owner with Others D
Was the property subject to a trustas of July 1, _2023 ? Yes[ | No []

If yes, please attach trust instrument including all schedules.

Have you been granted any exemption in any other city or town (MA or other) for this year? Yes |:| No |:]
If yes, name of city or town Amount exempted $

DISPOSITION OF APPLICATION (ASSESSORS’ USE ONLY)

Ownership ] GRANTED[_] Assessed Tax $
Occupancy L] DENIED [ ] Exempted Tax $
Status [] DEEMED DENTED L] Adjusted Tax §

Board of Assessors
Date Voted/Deemed Denied

Certificate No.

Date Cert./Notice Sent

Exemption: Clause Date:

FILING THIS FORM DOES NOT STAY THE COLLECTION OF YOUR TAXES
THIS FORM APPROVED BY THE COMMISSIONER OF REVENUE




B. EXEMPTION STATUS. Check the status that applies to you and complete the questions that follow.

[ ] VETERAN
[ ] VETERAN’S SPOUSE Veteran's Name
Was the property the veteran’s domicile as of July 1, _ 2023

Yes |:| No |:|
If no, where does the veteran reside?

D VETERAN’S/SERVICEMEMBER’S/ NATIONAL  Deceased Veteran’s /Servicemember’s/National Guard member’s
GUARD MEMBER’S SURVIVING SPOUSE or Name

SERVICEMEMBER’S SURVIVING PARENT

If first year of application, attach copy of death certificate.

If you are surviving spouse, have you remarried? Yes No I::l
Date Enlisted /Inducted Date Discharged
Type of Discharge If first year of application, attach copy of discharge papers.

Military Decorations or Awards

Did the veteran/service/national guard member live in Massachusetts for at least 6 months before entering the service?

Yes |:| No If no, list places and dates where veteran or member lived during the last 6 years or if deceased, the 6 years before
death (2 years if local option adopted - See Assessors)

Address Dates

Continue list on attachment in same format as necessary.

If yes to any of the next 2 questions and if first year of application, (1) attach documentation from ULS. Dept. of Veterans Affairs,
branch of service and (2) list above places and dates where surviving spouse has lived during the last 6 years (2 years if local option
adopted — See Assessors)

Is the servicemember or national guard member missing in action and presumed dead? Yes |:| No |:|

Was the proximate cause of the veteran’s, servicemember’s or national guard member’s death due to an active duty injury
or illness? Yes DNO

If yes to next question and first year of application, attach Certificate of Disability from U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs or branch of
service.

Does the veteran have a 100% disability rating for service-connected blindness?  Yes D No D

If yes to any of the next 3 questions and
If first year of application, attach Certificate of Disability from U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs or branch of service.
If exemption granted previously, attach certificate only if disability rating is 100% or has changed.

Does the veteran have a service-connected disability?  Yes DNO I::l
Has the veteran acquired “specially adapted housing?” Yes |:| No [:l

Is the veteran a paraplegic? Yes |____| No |:|
GO ON TO SECTION C

C. SIGNATURE. Sign here to complete the application.

This application has been prepared or examined by me. Under the pains and penalties of perjury, I declare that to the
best of my knowledge and belief, this return and all accompanying documents and statements are true, correct and
complete.

Signature Date

If signed by agent, attach copy of written authorization to sign on behalf of taxpayer.




TAXPAYER INFORMATION ABOUT PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS

PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS. You may be eligible to reduce all or a portion of the taxes assessed on
your domicile if you meet the qualifications for one of the personal exemptions allowed under

Massachusetts law. Qualifications vary, but generally relate to age, ownership, residency, disability,
income or assets.

You may be eligible for an exemption if you fall into any of these categories:

* Legally blind person e Surviving spouse

e Veteran with a service-connected e Minor child of a deceased parent
disability * Senior citizen age 70 and older (65 and

e Surviving spouse of servicemember, older by local option)

national guard member or veteran who
died from active duty injury or illness

More detailed information about the qualifications for each exemption may be obtained from your
board of assessors.

WHO MAY FILE AN APPLICATION. You may file an application if you meet all qualifications for a
personal exemption as of July 1. You may also apply if you are the personal representative of the
estate, or trustee under the will, of a person who qualified for a personal exemption on July 1.

WHEN AND WHERE APPLICATION MUST BE FILED. Your application must be filed with the
assessors on or before April 1, or 3 months after the actual bills were mailed for the fiscal year,
whichever is later. An application is filed when (1) received by the assessors on or before the filing
deadline, or (2) mailed by United States mail, first class postage prepaid, to the proper address of the
assessors, on or before the filing deadline, as shown by a postmark made by the United States Postal
Service. THIS DEADLINE CANNOT BE EXTENDED OR WAIVED BY THE ASSESSORS FOR ANY
REASON. IF YOUR APPLICATION IS NOT TIMELY FILED, YOU LOSE ALL RIGHTS TO AN
EXEMPTION AND THE ASSESSORS CANNOT BY LAW GRANT YOU ONE.

PAYMENT OF TAX. Filing an application does not stay the collection of your taxes. In some cases,
you must pay all preliminary and actual installments of the tax when due to appeal the assessors’
disposition of your application. Failure to pay the tax when due may also subject you to interest
charges and collection action. To avoid any loss of rights or additional charges, you should pay the
tax as assessed. If an exemption is granted and you have already paid the entire year’s tax as
exempted, you will receive a refund of any overpayment.

ASSESSORS DISPOSITION. Upon applying for an exemption, you may be required to provide the
assessors with further information and supporting documentation to establish your eligibility. The
assessors have 3 months from the date your application is filed to act on it unless you agree in writing
before that period expires to extend it for a specific time. If the assessors do not act on your
application within the original or extended period, it is deemed denied. You will be notified in
writing whether an exemption has been granted or denied.

APPEAL. You may appeal the disposition of your application to the Appellate Tax Board, or if
applicable, the County Commissioners. The appeal must be filed within 3 months of the date the
assessors acted on your application, or the date your application was deemed denied, whichever is
applicable. The disposition notice will provide you with further information about the appeal
procedure and deadline.




RETURN TO THE ASSESSORS OFFICE BY: 3 PM APRIL 1,2024

VETERAN EXEMPTION APPLICATION CL. 22
FOR FY2024

SECTION A: Please be sure to fill out completely

SECTION B: Exemption Status. Check the status that applies to you and complete the
questions that follow

SECTION C: Sign the Application

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: For those with a 10% disability rating or higher (but
below 100%), if the assessor’s office already has your letter from the VA stating your
disability rating, you do NOT need to resubmit the letter each year.

If you have a 100% disability rating, you are required to submit a copy of the letter from
the VA each year.

The application for exemption is not public record and the information is kept strictly

confidential. You will be issued a certificate of exemption upon qualification after the tax
bills are sent.

If you require assistance, please call 498-2901 ext. 118.

This application is due April 1, 2024

Thank You,

Northfield Board of Assessors
Bethany Walker, Clerk



